Understanding Animal Research

Who we are

Understanding Animal Research aims to achieve broad understanding of the humane use of animals in medical, veterinary, scientific and environmental research in the UK. We are a not for profit organisation funded by our members.


Understanding Animal Research has a small London office. The staff are:

Wendy Jarrett Chief Executive

Dr Elisabeth Harley Policy and Communications Officer

Tom Holder Campaigns Manager

Agnes Jawara Office Manager

Ian Le Guillou  Science Writer

Chris Magee Head of Policy and Media

John Meredith Education Manager

Stuart Roger Education Officer 

Richard Scrase Head of Online Communication

Dr Anabella Williams Head of Engagement


The Council of Understanding Animal Research is equivalent to the Board of Directors. Members of Council sit as individuals, and bring knowledge of the different sectors which the organisation represents. Council members are voted in at AGMs. They are selected for the skills they bring, as well as having an interest in the aims of the organisation.

Professor Frances Balkwill (Chair)

Paul Sanders (Hon Treasurer)
Ken Applebee
Professor Derek Bell
Dr Tony Causey
Karen Gardner
Andrew Gay
Professor Max Headley
Dr Robin Lovell-Badge
Professor Jeremy Pearson
Professor Angela Roberts
Dr Patrick Sinnett-Smith
Professor Sir Nick Wright

History and Structure

Understanding Animal Research was founded at the end of 2008 by bringing together two UK organisations, Research Defence Society and Coalition for Medical Progress. It is a membership organisation with over 110 member organisations and many more individual supporters. Organisational members are drawn from various sectors including academic, pharmaceutical, charities, research funders, professional and learned societies.

Related document

Last edited: 9 May 2014 16:11